JWST NIRISS Improve this page

The James Web Space Telescope FGS-NIRISS science team is led by Professor René Doyon from the Université de Montréal, Director of the Mont-Mégantic Observatory, Director of the Institute for Research on Exoplanets (iRex), and member of the Centre de recherche en astrophysique du Québec (CRAQ). The team includes astronomers from: COM DEV; the National Research Council Canada; Saint Mary’s University; the Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI); the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich (ETH Zurich); the Université de Montréal; York University; the University of Rochester; Cornell University; and the University of Toronto.

CANFAR current activities

  • The NIRISS team is working with the CADC and the CSA to define their requirements for integrating CANFAR into their workflow both for science and instrument team work.

Data & software needs and future plans

  • The requirements of the team at Université de Montréal will drive the development of CANFAR systems that will serve all Canadian JWST users.


  • Project web page: http://jwst.astro.umontreal.ca/
  • Node lead and contact: René Doyon
  • People:
    • Professor René Doyon from the Université de Montréal: Team Lead
    • Chris Willott (NRC-HAA: Co-Investigator)
    • John Hutchings (NRC-HAA: Science Team)
    • David Lafrenière (UdeM: Science Team)
    • Judy Pipher (Rochester: Science Team)